Netherlands MacGillavry PhD Fellowships 2019 in Life Sciences

MacGillavry Fellowship

The Faculty of Science of the University of Amsterdam attaches great importance to the contribution of female scientists in research and education. For this reason we are continuing the recruitment programme for talented women, named after the ground breaking crystallographer professor Carolina MacGillavry (1904-1993), an alumna of the University of Amsterdam. In the third round of this programme we offer:

6 MacGillavry Fellowships (tenure track position for talented female researchers)

logo MacGillavry Fellowship

The MacGillavry Fellowship is primarily directed at talented women. We are therefore especially seeking women who have a strong track record in one of the Faculty’s scientific disciplines and at the same time have the potential and ambition to obtain a leadership position as professor at the University of Amsterdam. 

Fields in the MacGillavry fellowship

The following fields in the MacGillavry fellowship are eligible for applications:
  • Astronomy: Exoplanets and Planet formation, Stars and Stellar populations

More information:
  • Informatics: Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Information Retrieval, Data Science, Computational Science, Systems and Security, Health Informatics

More information:
  • Biodiversity and Earth Science: Ecosystem & Landscape Dynamics, Evolutionary and Population Biology, Theoretical and Computational Ecology, Freshwater & Marine Ecology

More information:
  • Physics: a wide range of research areas in Physics, for example within Theoretical Physics (in particular Quantum many-body-theory and Quantum simulations), or within Experimental particle or Astroparticle Physics
More information:
  • Mathematics: Statistics, Statistical data science, Discrete mathematics, Quantum information theory, Post-quantum cryptography, Geometry, Number theory, Representation theory

More information:
  • Life Sciences: System biology approaches in Host microbe interactions; Fundamental biological aspects of mental health

More information:
  • Chemistry: Analytical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Molecular Photonics, Sustainable Chemistry

More information:
Selection procedure
The application procedure will close on 4 February 2019.
Applications will be divided over the various Faculty research institutes. Each research institute has established a selection committee under the supervision of the institute director. This committee will assess all applications and references.
Each selection committee will draw up a top 2 or top 3 of the best candidates, depending on the number of applications for each discipline and the excellence of the candidates. These 2 to 3 candidates of the seven research institutes add up to a shortlist of about 18 to 20 candidates.  These candidates will be invited to spend a day at the Faculty in March/April 2019 (see below for the exact dates).
This day at the Faculty will consist of a public presentation to be held by the candidate in the morning and a 30 minute interview with the selection committee in the afternoon. The selection committee will consist of a female chair, institute directors, a MacGillavry fellow of a previous round and an official secretary (also see Composition of selection committee). Candidates will also take part in a supplementary programme compiled by the institute director.
Based on the presentations and selection interviews, the top 6 will be offered a fellowship.

Time schedule

  • 4 February 2019: closing date applications
  • 15 February: shortlist top 20 candidates announced
  • 25 March, 27 March, 8 April and 9 April 2019: presentation and selection meetings at the Faculty of Science

Selection committee

Chair: Prof. Sonja Smets
Members: Prof. Astrid Groot, Prof. Paul de Jong, Prof. Eric Opdam, Prof. Peter Schoenmakers, Prof. Marten Smidt, Dr Anna Watts, Prof. Annemarie van Wezel and Prof. Marcel Worring
Secretary: Eric Sennema

Post a comment